Relationships are an experience that we deal with on a daily basis.  They range from personal, professional, social, economic and many other forms in the daily give and take of life.  One relationship which has been a cornerstone on my view of the world.  It revolves around the personal mental, physical, emotional  matters.  Walking with an attitude of gratitude about being blessed with diabetes, prior to my seventeenth birthday was influenced by the times during my hospital stay.

My relationship with my diabetes has been and continues to be influenced by music.

This is MY VIEW OF DIABETES THROUGH A THIS GUY’S EYES

In 1965, at the start of my high school junior year, a very unique and special relationship emerged in my life. It was consummated later in April of the same academic year when I was diagnosed with juvenile (Type 1) diabetes. The experts at the time informed my parents, but not me, that this relationship would be lethal within ten to fifteen years. Through trial and error, I came to realize over time that the success of this new relationship with my “It Girl”, diabetes, would be based upon my choice of actions. She is a riddle wrapped in a mystery inside an enigma. The responsibility of stabilizing our relationship was mine and mine alone.

The challenge for me was to find ways to measure my successes for a budding healthy relationship with my “It Girl”. At the start of this relationship, she was the quiet one, but if she was ignored, there was a serious price to pay.

My biggest ongoing fear has been best expressed in a very special song for me.  The song search is:  will you love me tomorrow the shirelles.  Just copy and paste for an internet search.  A link to the song and the group, the in a prior posting, has been blocked.  The poignant concerns are mirrored in the line, “Tonight the light of love is in my (eyes) But will I (be there) to love her (my “It Girl”) tomorrow”. In my mind, the lyrics are: will glucose be normal through the night and will I see her tomorrow? 

My overriding desire has been and still is for successful outcomes with this relationship. It is driven by my desire to quantify successes in our relationship.

Measuring timely information was a major roadblock for our first twenty-five years together. I had failures which were hard lessons to learn, especially the speed of a hypo event during exercise as well as developing hidden hyper events. Originally, the data from single point visual urine tests and later blood glucose tests were the only measurement I had. These have a delayed factor and are static. The timeliness of urine and followed by blood glucose tests are similar to photographs developed after serious auto accidents-too little and too late. Improved information technology with the introduction of blood glucose meters and insulin pumps began to bring visualization and clarity to the roller coaster challenges of everyday life of hypos and hyper events. In 1989, the introduction of the family puppy became my daily exercise teammate and my sleeping continuous glucose monitor.   She proved to be a major improvement in the timing for corrective actions while sleeping. It was uncanny how she accomplished such an accurate feat by licking my face to awaken me prior to hypoglycemic events with time for corrective actions. The passing of our family dog in 2012, lead me to add a real time continuous glucose monitoring system, CGM, which I continue to wear. These improvements in information technology and accuracy via coordinated blood glucose meter, pump, food carb levels and CGM reports have helped to keep this “It Girl” happy and has improved our kindred relationship.

Guys can be very selective about the data we absorb and share. The time has come for guys to understand the importance and insights from the real time stream of information from continuous glucose meters concerning our diabetes. Choices of actions are improved because of timely measured data trends indicating whether to quickly increase, decrease or stop insulin flow, exercise, and/or food intake. Various combinations of action can also achieve stability within normal blood glucose levels. This leads to measured improved hemoglobin A1c outcomes. The result for me has been reaching a fifty-year relationship with my “It Girl”-one the doctors predicted would never happen.

Dan

On February 14, 2015

